The finalists for this years Heavy Music Awards have been announced. The award ceremony aims to highlight the best national and international music, producers and photographers through a voting ballot which was put together by more than 100 independent music industry professionals. In which ourselves took part in!

The wards will take place this summer at the KOKO in London on Thursday, 23rd August. Last night, all of the finalists were unveiled during a launch event at Gorilla in Manchester, with British hopefuls Milestones, LOATHE and Cold Years all performing.

You can check out nominees for this year’s Heavy Music Awards below:

Best Album

Code OrangeForever (Roadrunner Records – Produced by Kurt Ballou & Will Yip)
ConvergeThe Dusk In Us (Epitaph Records / Deathwish Inc – Produced by Kurt
CreeperEternity, In Your Arms (Roadrunner Records – Produced by Neil D. Kennedy)
Enter ShikariThe Spark (Ambush Reality – Produced by David Kosten & Rou Reynolds)
MastodonEmperor Of Sand (Reprise Records – Produced by Brendan O’Brien)
The MenzingersAfter The Party (Epitaph Records – Produced by Will Yip)
While She SleepsYou Are We (Independent – Produced by While She Sleeps)

Best UK Band

Arcane Roots (Easy Life)
Architects (Epitaph Records)
Creeper (Roadrunner Records)
Enter Shikari (Ambush Reality)
Frank Carter & The Rattlesnakes (International Death Cult)
Marmozets (Roadrunner Records)
While She Sleeps (Independent)

Best International Band

Code Orange (Roadrunner Records)
Converge (Epitaph Records)
Mastodon (Reprise Records)
The Menzingers (Epitaph Records)
Metallica (Blackened Recordings)
Parkway Drive (Epitaph Records)
Trivium (Roadrunner Records)

Best Live Band

Presented by Jackson Guitars
Architects (Epitaph Records)
Enter Shikari (Ambush Reality)
Every Time I Die (Epitaph Records)
Frank Carter & The Rattlesnakes (International Death Cult)
Ghost (Loma Vista Recordings)
Gojira (Roadrunner Records)
While She Sleeps (Independent)

Best UK Breakthrough Band

Bad Sign (Basick Records)
Conjurer (Holy Roar Records)
Employed To Serve (Holy Roar Records)
Holding Absence (Sharptone Records)
Loathe (Sharptone Records)
Milk Teeth (Roadrunner Records)
Venom Prison (Prosthetic Record)

Best International Breakthrough Band

Brutus (Hassle Records)
Can’t Swim (Pure Noise Records)
Knocked Loose (Pure Noise Records)
Palaye Royale (Sumerian Records)
Sløtface (Propeller Recordings)
Stand Atlantic (Rude Records)
Waterparks (Equal Vision Records)

Best Album Artwork

Presented by The Pit
Bell WitchMirror Reaper (Profound Lore Records – Artwork by Mariusz Lewandowski)

ConvergeThe Dusk In Us (Epitaph Records / Deathwish Inc – Artwork by Jacob Bannon)

CreeperEternity, In Your Arms (Roadrunner Records – Artwork by Nicky Barkla)

Frank Carter & The RattlesnakesModern Ruin (International Death Cult – Artwork by Dean Richardson / Studio Yuck)

MastodonEmperor of Sand (Reprise Records – Artwork by Donny Phillips)

NorthlaneMesmer (UNFD – Artwork by Jacques Duquette / Fvckrender)

SikthThe Future In Whose Eyes? (Millennium Night – Artwork by Meats Meier)

Best Festival

2000trees Festival
Arc Tan Gent
Bloodstock Open Air
Download Festival
Hellfest Open Air
Slam Dunk Festival
UK Tech Fest

Best Photographer

Corinne Cumming
Ben Gibson
Joshua Halling
Paul Harries
Tina Korhonen
Jennifer McCord
Ed Mason

Best Producer

Kurt Ballou
Romesh Dodangoda
Neil D Kennedy
Dan Lancaster
Brendan O’Brien
Will Putney
Will Yip

You can cast your votes here. Voting closes on 27 June 2018, with each participant in with the chance of winning two tickets for the awards.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s